[Adduser-devel] Bug#362623: adduser: deluser(8) manpage typos and
J S Bygott
jsb_no_spm at jsbygott.fsnet.co.uk
Fri Apr 14 15:41:34 UTC 2006
This applies to both stable (version 3.63) and testing (version 3.85).
There are some typos ("an user" --> "a user" etc).
Also, I suggest adding "DIR" to the synopsis ("--backup-to DIR").
I suggest changing "setup" (copied from adduser) to "cleanup".
Finally, I suggest a simpler version of the "warning".
diff -u deluser.8 deluser.8.new > patch
-------------- next part --------------
--- deluser.8 2006-04-14 16:06:53.000000000 +0100
+++ deluser.8.new 2006-04-14 16:25:42.000000000 +0100
@@ -10,7 +10,7 @@
deluser, delgroup \- remove a user or group from the system
-.BR deluser " [options] [\-\-remove-home] [\-\-home DIR] [\-\-remove-all-files] [\-\-backup] [\-\-backup-to] user"
+.BR deluser " [options] [\-\-remove-home] [\-\-home DIR] [\-\-remove-all-files] [\-\-backup] [\-\-backup-to DIR] user"
.BR deluser " \-\-group [options] group"
@@ -76,7 +76,7 @@
If the file
exists, it will be executed after the user account has been removed
-in order to do any local setup. The arguments passed to
+in order to do any local cleanup. The arguments passed to
@@ -87,17 +87,16 @@
.BR deluser " is called with the " \-\-group " option, or " delgroup
is called, a group will be removed.
-Warning: If any users have the group to be removed as primary group
-the group cannot be removed.
+Warning: The primary group of an existing user cannot be removed.
If the option
is given, the group won't be removed if it has any members left.
-.SS "Remove an user from a specific group"
+.SS "Remove a user from a specific group"
If called with two non-option arguments,
-will remove an user from a specific group.
+will remove a user from a specific group.
.B \-\-conf FILE
@@ -117,7 +116,7 @@
Only delete if user/group is a system user/group. This avoids
-accidentally deleting non-system user/groups. Additionally, if the
+accidentally deleting non-system users/groups. Additionally, if the
user does not exist, no error value is returned. This option is mainly
for use in Debian package maintainer scripts.
More information about the Adduser-devel