Package: iceweasel<br>Version: 3.5.15-1<br><br>Cookies are not deleted on exit, when &#39;Delete cookies&#39; is selected<br><br>EXPECTED BEHAVIOUR<br><br>With the Privacy setting of &#39;Keep cookies until&#39; = &#39;I close Iceweasel&#39;, and with the Clearing History setting of &#39;Clear Cookies&#39; = &#39;True&#39;, the user expects that all cookies will be automatically deleted on exit (as per Help documentation).<br>
<br>ACTUAL BEHAVIOUR<br><br>Cookies are not deleted. It seems as though these Privacy settings are ignored. After closing then relaunching Iceweasel, the &#39;Show Cookies&#39; button reveals that the cookies were not deleted and are still present.<br>
<br>STEPS TO REPRODUCE<br><br>- Browse a few web-pages so that Iceweasel collects some cookies (if it has not yet collected any).<br><br>- Under the Privacy tab, set &#39;Keep until&#39; = &#39;I close Iceweasel&#39;. Also, set all other settings as per the attached screenshot.<br>
<br>- In the Settings for Clearing History pop-up, set &#39;Cookies&#39; = &#39;True&#39;.  Also, set all other settings as per the attached screenshot.<br><br>- Close Iceweasel.<br><br>- Relaunch Iceweasel (in the same profile, of course).<br>
<br>- Under the Privacy tab, click the &#39;Show Cookies&#39; button. Observe that the cookies were not deleted and are still present.<br><br>RELATED BUGS<br><br>This bug seems to be related to <a href="http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=502097">bug 502097</a>, except that the latter seems to focus on the storage persistence of the setting itself, rather than on the functional operation of the setting on cookies.<br>
<br>OTHER CONSIDERATIONS<br><br>The two settings mentioned above could somehow be merged into one setting so as not to confuse the user. With two settings, it is possible to have &#39;Keep until&#39; = &#39;I close Iceweasel&#39; AND &#39;Cookies&#39; = &#39;False&#39;, a seemingly illogical combination. Some light experimentation indicates that these two settings are not synchronised. For example, un-checking the &#39;Cookies&#39; check-box does not change the value of the &#39;Keep until&#39; drop-down, leaving these settings in a seemingly illogical state.<br>